19 Wellesley Student-Athletes Named Spring Academic All-Conference

19 Wellesley Student-Athletes Named Spring Academic All-Conference

BABSON PARK, Mass. -- The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has named 19 Wellesley student-athletes to the Academic All-Conference Team for the winter. Leading the way for the Blue, seven members of the crew team were honored, while the track and field team had six honorees. The lacrosse and softball teams each placed three on the list. 

From the crew team, senior Shernaz Dossabhoy (Belmont, MA) and juniors Kathryn Goffin (Falmouth, ME), Jennifer Lamy (Chester, NH) and Tess Ruderman (Brookline, MA) are all repeat honorees. Dossabhoy is a German language and literature major, Goffin is a psychology major, Lamy is a double major in economics and environmental studies, and Ruderman is a Mathematics major. Seniors Conisha Cooper (Glen Ridge, NJ), Senta Knuth (Minneapolis, MN) and junior Aiden Chambers (Bethesda, MD), are each first-time selections. Cooper is a psychology major, Knuth is a political science and economics major, while Chambers is a biological sciences major. 

Representing the track and field team, senior Cailey Stevens (Kodiak, AK), junior Ada Smith (Stoughton, WI), and sophomores Ali Grzywna (Framingham, MA), Skye Roberts (Grand Rapids, MI), Sarah Roundy (Hamilton, MA) and Anna Tupper-Bridges (Walla Walla, WA) all earn Academic All-Conference for the first time. Stevens is a double major in economics and Spanish while Smith majors in anthropology and environmental studies. Rounding out the track and field representatives, Grzywna is a studio art major, Roberts is a history major, Roundy is a psychology major and Tupper Bridges is a double major in religion and political science. 

From the lacrosse team, Meredith Roy (Merrimack, NH), a neuroscience major, is a returning Academic All-Conference selection. Joining her are two first time lacrosse honorees in sophomores Kaitlyn Kirkaldy (Middlebury, VT) and Alex Azzi (Rye, NH). Kirkaldy is an international relations major, while Azzi is an American studies major. Both earned the honor for the field hockey team in the fall. 

The softball team was represented by three two-time honorees. Senior Rachael Goldenberg (Rochester, NY), a peace and justice studies major, and juniors Kimberly Cabral (Temecula, CA), a Spanish major, and Lauren Goldfarb (Albuquerque, NM), a geoscience major, were each honored for the second year in a row.

In order to be named to a NEWMAC Academic All-Conference team, a student-athlete must have, along with completing an entire season as a member of her varsity team, earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 or 4.35/5.0 after the fall 2011 semester and achieved second-year academic status.

The ten members of the New England Men’s and Women’s Athletic Conference are Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.